Tags

, ,

Published: April 20, 2009 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Pages: 150

Genre: Dystopian, Science fiction

Anax is fourteen years old and ready to face the Examiners, the three-person panel that will decide whether or not she will get to enter The Academy, the institution that rules her society. I read maybe twenty pages and then regretted spending my money. I tried really hard to like this book – the blurb sounds interesting and the cover is beautiful – but it feels like the story goes nowhere, and I thought it dragged on and on and on and on… The story is really in the backstory, and I prefer action. I also don’t like monotones, and that’s how Anax seems to speak to the Examiners. But on the other hand, I have to acknowledge one thing: this is a book that asks a lot of philosophical questions. If you want a book that focuses solely on the idea of a society falling apart into a dystopian world, this is definitely the book for you.

This story is just one of those that you’ll either LOVE or absolutely HATE.

I’d recommend this to any dystopian reader, especially ones who want something a little different.

Stars: 2/5

