Tags

, ,

Published: February 28, 2012 by Harper Teen

Pages: 375

Series: Delirium, #2

Genre: Dystopian

 

Favorite quote: “Grief is like sinking, like being buried… There is nothing to do but let go.”

Review summed up in one sentence: If you loved Delirium, you’ll be blown away by Pandemonium, and you should go read the book before you read another word here!

We first met Lena in Delirium, where we discovered the world where love is called a sickness. It is named deliria, and it is dangerous. People must be cured in order to live their lives deliria-free. Love makes people crazy. And Lena has it. She doesn’t want to ever let it go.

Lena fell in love with Alex.  At the end of Delirium, they tried to flee their society to freedom in the uncured Wilds. But tragedy struck – Lena escaped over the fence, while Alex was taken.

Pandemonium focuses on Lena’s experiences in the Wilds, her new allies there, and her new status as an Invalid. It’s all about grief. It’s all about change and growth as a person. It’s all about Alex.

Lauren Oliver has a talent for emotional writing. I loved Delirium and I enjoyed her debut Before I Fall. But I think this book is her best so far in terms of emotion. When Lena cried, I wanted to cry. When Lena was angry, I was angry. Lena’s emotional roller coaster ride was mine too.

Lena has grown so much as a character since the first book. You’ll notice it immediately, and when you finish this one you’ll definitely agree. I’m so glad to have another strong female protagonist. It’s so refreshing.

This book was certainly written with skill. I haven’t enjoyed a book this much since reading Veronica Roth’s Divergent.Lauren Oliver is a talented writer, and it shows. When the biggest cliffhanger yet occurred, I was absolutely furious that there wasn’t just one more page. I was kept me glued to the couch, and I wound up finishing the book in one sitting.

One thing about the book that’s different from Delirium: the book is split up into chapters of “then” and “now”. As the story goes along, the two pieces are brought together. One part shows what Lena’s up to now as part of the resistance, while the other shows what happened right after Lena crossed the border. While this might sound difficult to keep up with, it really isn’t. I enjoyed both parts equally. It’s perfectly done.

This book is phenomenally written. I simply can’t do it justice in a review. I’d recommend this book to any dystopian reader, especially those who enjoyed Divergent and Matched.

Rating: 5/5 stars

