Tags

,

Reached by Ally Condie
Published November 13, 2012 by Dutton Childrens Books
Pages: 512
Series: Matched, #3
Genre: Dystopian

Favorite quote:

In a story, you can turn to the front and begin again and everyone lives once more. That doesn’t work in real life.

Cassia has returned once more to the Society, now a member of the Rising.

Xander is a medic trying to take care of the sudden plague that is taking over the Society.

Ky is now a pilot for the Rising.

The story is told in all three points of view. The writing is classic Condie – fluid, poetic, and beautiful. I loved Cassia’s parts in particular, and I enjoyed getting to know Xander. Up until now, we’ve been able to fall for Ky and root for him, but what about Xander? He’s been reduced to the role of Gale from The Hunger Games– the boy from next door who’s still in love with the girl and can’t move on. Now we’re given an opportunity to understand his character.

Speaking of character, there’s so much character development in this book for Cassia and Xander. They seem like completely new people by the end of Reached. I feel like Ky had very little (if any!) growth. Come to think of it, I don’t think he’s grown at all since the very beginning of the series.
The worst part of Reached is that it’s very SLOW. There’s not much action, really. I found myself putting the book down and wandering off to do other things. It took me six days to finish Reached. That’s unheard of for me. When I first read Matched, I think I had it finished in just a few hours.

I really, really, really hated the ending of the love triangle. The boy I picked wasn’t chosen. Sigh.

I still liked the book. It’s well written. It ties everything up perfectly, and there’s little bits and pieces of information tucked here and there. I love the covers, the green-blue-red symbolism. But I wanted to know more about the Society. I wanted to see Cassia living in the Society, like she did in Matched. I wanted to see more of the world she lives in. Reached is more about rebellion, and choosing your Match for yourself.

“Reaching and reached.”

I would recommend this to those who love Divergent and Delirium.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Other reviews of Reached by Ally Condie:

http://yabookqueen.blogspot.com/

