Tags

,

Stocking the Bookshelf is a new feature that I’ve created because I wanted to showcase books I’ve picked up recently.

I spend a lot of time in used bookstores. I don’t have the salary I wish I had, so I have to be a frugal bookworm. This means many of my books come used, and it also means that I’m behind on a lot of reading. (Sell some more CURRENT stuff, people!)

During my search last week I came across a series I’ve avoided like the plague. I’ve avoided it because I was afraid it would be like Twilight. Don’t get me wrong, I liked some things about Twilight and I loved Stephenie Meyer’s redeeming novel, The Host. In fact, I’m tempted to blog about The Host because I loved it so much. But because of Twilight, I’m afraid that every vampire novel out there is going to totally mess up my idea of what a vampire should be. Especially if it’s a popular book.

But last week I couldn’t find anything good to read, and I was desperate for something new. So I found a cheap paperback copy of Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. I had seen it plenty of times, but I had always skipped it. Now I was willing to give it a try, and I reasoned that if I didn’t like it, I would only be wasting less than five bucks.

vampacademybkcover

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead on Goodreads

That night, I started reading. I was hooked about halfway through. I’ve gone back and picked up the next two books (Frostbite and Shadow Kiss) And even though I don’t totally like the world, I think I’ve become addicted.

Now excuse me while I go stick my nose into Frostbite.

