Tags

 Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week there’s a new topic! 

This Tuesday’s topic:

Top Ten Favorite Favorite New-to-Me Authors I Read in 2012

(okay, so I could only come up with nine…)

1. Richelle Mead

I didn’t know how great a writer she is until I finally picked up her series Vampire Academy a couple weeks ago. I love her ability to make me care about her characters. Now I’m a loyal reader!

2. Susan Beth Pfeffer

So maybe I’m cheating because when I was younger I read Amy’s Story, but hey, that was a long time ago and it was meant for kids. I got into an apocalyptic kick and read Life As We Knew It. It was the best of the series, and I read obsessively until I finished.

3. Caragh M. O’Brien

The last of the Birthmarked series was published this year, so I didn’t have long to wait once I picked up the first book. I love her world-building ability.

4. Robin LaFevers (aka R.L. LaFevers)

Grave Mercy was one of my favorite books this year. Badass assassin nuns!

 5. Amanda Hocking

I finally read Switched, and I was pleasantly surprised.

6. Elana Johnson

I only somewhat liked Possession, but when I took a chance on Surrender, I finally got sucked into the plot.

7. Galaxy Craze

She wrote The Last Princess and many people didn’t like it, but I did. Maybe I’m a sucker for stories with British royalty.

8. Lisa McMann

Dead to You was the best story of 2012, in my opinion.

9. Cat Patrick

Revived was a great story, and I wish I had written it. Such an interesting concept.

