Tags

,

youknowbkcover

You Know What You Have to Do by Bonnie Shimko

Expected publication date: March 26, 2013 by Amazon Children’s

Series: standalone

Pages: 240

Genre: horror

Add to Goodreads

Blurb (from Netgalley): Funny, fiesty, fifteen-year-old Mary Magdalene Feigenbaum (otherwise known as Maggie) suddenly faces more than the usual YA concerns: a voice in her head is telling her to kill people. Not just anyone – each time the target is someone who has done something terrible to a person Maggie cares for. You know what you have to do, the voice commands. Maggie struggles to resist, but the voice is relentless. With rising suspense, this story of  psychological horror introduces a narrator whose own unique voice and irreverent humor are unforgettable – an unlikely hero fighting a desperate battle against incomprehensible evil.

 

I will always carry the guilt for what I’ve done.

 

Maggie hears a voice in her head telling her to kill certain people, usually because they’ve done something to hurt someone Maggie cares for.

I usually don’t read horror novels. I like being able to go to sleep at night! I’m a chicken when it comes to things dark and scary. And this book is definitely dark and scary. It’s also an emotional roller coaster. I was glued to my Kindle the whole way through, begging Maggie to stop and tell her therapist, and snapping at her stupid mother, and crying when…um…the really sad thing happens. I don’t want to give it away…

However, I didn’t like that Maggie wasn’t ever punished. Not that I want her punished, but there were never any consequences for her actions. The people who knew what she had done never spoke up about it. It was just too easy for Maggie, and she never really got help. This really disturbed me, and it took away from my enjoyment of the book.

Rating: 4 stars

*An ARC was provided by netgalley and the publisher in exchange for a review*

 

 

 

 

